Darrell K Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium

Home of the Texas Longhorns

1701 Red River Austin, Texas, 78768 View Map
Nearby Restaurants and Bars
(3 reviews) Rate It

Experience the Park Darrell K Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium Fan Guide

From Royal to Mack

The Texas Longhorns have one of the most storied programs in all of college football. The team has won national championships in 1963, ‘69, ‘70 and 2005. The program’s inaugural season was 1893 and the team joined the Southwestern Conference in 1915 and stayed there until 1996. That’s when they joined the Big 12 and won the inaugural conference championship. 

The Longhorns are under the direction of head coach Mack Brown, who has the highest winning percentage of any coach in the last 12 years (.814), and is second only to Bobby Bowden in victories since 1990. Heading into the 2008 season, Brown boasted a 189-99-1 record. He came to Texas in 1998 from North Carolina.

Some great former Longhorns are Bobby Layne, Tommy Nobis, Earl Campbell, Ricky Williams and Vince Young, while Bevo, is the team mascot. There is a live Bevo on the field during the game and a costumed mascot that entertains the crowd. 


Darrell K Royal Texas Memorial Stadium is named after the legendary coach who won three national championships while at Texas. However, the Memorial part is not related to Royal because he is still alive. The stadium was originally Texas Memorial Stadium, dedicated to the veterans of all U.S. wars, and Royal’s name was added later.

The stadium was opened in 1924 with a seating capacity of 27,000 and has undergone many renovations since. The upper deck on the east side was completed in 1999, and renovations in the north end zone were finished in 2008. Capacity is 94,113, but more than 98,000 crammed in for a game early in 2008.

David Henry